Exercise: 14km Run – Treadmill (8’s Blue)

So the whole weekend was a write off 😦

I’m kicking myself now that I didn’t take up Michelle’s offer of starting our long run at 6am on Saturday. It was a beautiful morning and would have been great running weather, especially as we were going to do a 30km long run through the hills.

Of course waking up on Sunday morning to torrential rain and freezing conditions certainly didn’t put a smile on my face 😡

We made the decision not to run, especially as we would be running to Olinda, which was having it’s first snowfall for a while. I really wasn’t happy as I’d been looking forward to this run all week, but it would have been quite dangerous to run up and down the hills in those conditions (okay that’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it!!).

So we changed our plans. Michelle was going to meet me at my place this morning for a 15km run around the streets. I got up at 5.35am to find a text message saying that there was no way Michelle was going to run in the torrential rain that was happening outside – and boy was it torrential 😯

This only left one option for me. The dreaded treadmill at the gym after work 🙄

My aim was for 15km, but I just couldn’t run any more at the 14km mark, so called it a day. My right glute has been playing up a bit and I’ve still got a niggle at the back of my left knee. I certainly felt them both tonight.

I had to laugh though, as there was a Step class starting whilst I was running on the treadmill, and the looks on some of the women’s faces when they walked out after their class to still see me running was priceless. I don’t think I’ve ever seen anyone run more than about 5km on the treadmills, so to see someone on the treadmill for more than 1.5 hours must have been a bit of a shock for them. 😀

Hope everyone’s water tanks are filling up fast 😉

