Exercise: 30km Run – Michelle’s Place to FTG & Return (8’s)

Ouch, ouch, ouch!! That’s all I can say right now.

I’m hurting in all the right places. Bum is sore, calves are tight and knee is tender to touch 😯

BUT – I ran 30 km today 🙂

I wasn’t sure that I was going to be able to run this distance as the longest I’ve done over the last month is a 25km run/walk up and down the hills.

Due to the weather conditions I was very unsure about what to wear. It was freezing cold at 8am, but the sun was out and I knew it wouldn’t take too long to warm up. So me being me, I erred on the side of caution and wore winter running gear.

I’d bought one of the new Slazenger compression t-shirts yesterday and I have to give it a huge thumbs up. I’d started running with the t-shirt underneath a long sleeved top but was quite warm by the 8km mark, so when we stopped at a toilet break I took the long sleeved top off. After that I never felt either too warm or too cold. It was just a great top to run in and I may even consider buying another one so that I can alternate them.

We saw PJ (Ausrunner) at the 8km mark also and he joined us for a very slow 10km plod before veering off the trail towards home.

The last 2km were pretty ugly. My body was screaming at me to stop, but even though I really wanted to, I was determined to complete the 30km running. I was very relieved when the 30km mark ticked over and we were able to walk the last 800 metres back to Michelle’s place.

Can you believe that I ran myself a cold bath when I got home and sat in it for 10 minutes. Hubby made me a cup of coffee which I drank while in the bath. Also had a top and a towel wrapped around my top half to keep some of the warmth in my body.

Am happy to have made this distance as it really gives me some hope that I can actually complete my first marathon. Just need to see how I feel tomorrow and whether I’m actually going to be able to walk 😯

