Exercise: 23km Run – GOR (8’s)

Well what can I say – It’s been a fantastic weekend and Michelle and I had a great time down at Apollo Bay.

The weather, however, was not nice at all 😦

We drove down on Saturday morning in absolutely torrential rain. It only really stopped once we’d hit the Great Ocean Road. Scary is probably an understatement when driving along the M1 with absolutely no visibility and trucks hurtling along on either side of the car 😯

We finally got to Apollo Bay and found the apartments where we were going to stay. They were literally within 200 metres of the finish line 🙂

We made it just in time to see the start of the 14km run and tried to find Kathryn in the crowd. Luckily we spotted her purple rain jacket as she ran by 🙂 We then ate some lunch and drank some bubbly stuff while waiting for everyone to return from the run! We ran into Sue & Jed and their tribe at the finish line. It was great to see some familiar faces 🙂

Cheered Kathryn and her friend Simon across the line and then wandered back with them to the apartment for a drink and some nibbles.

A very relaxed evening, just getting everything ready for the run, making sure we were hydrated properly. Even ate Pasta for tea 🙄

Raceday dawned and it was absolutely peeing it down with rain and howling a gale when I looked out of the window at 4.30am 😯

Luckily by the time that we arrived at the buses that were taking us to Kennett River it had stopped raining. We jumped off the bus at Kennett River and raced straight over to Kathryn and Simon’s cabin. How good did we feel sitting snug as a bug in their cabin while everyone else had to stand out in the freezing cold 😀

We ventured out to the start line with about 10 minutes to go before the start. There was a fairly decent crowd (over 1200 I believe) and it didn’t take long before we were off.

Long story short, I was amazed at how good I felt the majority of the run. We didn’t stop at all, which I was very surprised about. The hills were nothing like I remembered them to be 2 years ago when I had the worst run 😦

The only downside of the run was the wind and rain. At one point we were running down a hill and the wind was so strong that it didn’t feel like there was any downhill at all. It was literally blowing us backwards 😯

I beat my time from 2 years ago, although we weren’t looking to do any PB’s as this was just another training run in preparation for Gold Coast. Thanks to Sue, Jed and the boys for their wonderful cheering as we neared the finish line 🙂

We’d decided that we were going to stay an extra night in Apollo Bay as we just wanted to relax and enjoy the evening, rather than having to rush back home with aching muscles, although saying that, I have no aching muscles 😯

I do have a sore knee again, but I’ve rolled on my foam roller and I’ve stretched it and have rubbed lots of Arnica cream into it too, so I’m hoping it’ll come good quickly like it did last week.

Michelle is trying to talk me into doing the Full Marathon next year 😯

