Exercise: 8km Recovery Run – Treadmill (Trigons)

Okay, what’s happening here….I bounced out of bed when the alarm went off this morning, even though I hadn’t gotten to sleep until after 11pm last night 😯

I’ve taken the last 2 days as rest days, just so that my legs could recover from the weekend.

As Monday was a holiday, Michelle and I met up at Lystefield Lake with her girls and Alana. It was a fantastic afternoon, just lazing in the shade, pigging out on munchies and having a good old girly gossip. The kids had a great time too, being in the water most of the afternoon. It was a real struggle to get them out when it was time to leave.

I had planned on getting up yesterday morning to do a recovery run at the gym, but when the alarm went off I realised that my legs were still too sore to contemplate any kind of running. Even last night, with a window of opportunity open to me, I made the decision to just give my legs another 12 hours to rest.

This morning was probably one of the best runs that I’ve had on the treadmill in a long time 🙂 My plan was to do a 6km recovery run, but the legs just felt so strong that I ended up doing 8km instead. And I could have kept going if not for running out of time. I absolutely love that feeling when you finish a run knowing that it was a good one 😀

With all the training that I’ve been doing, somehow I’ve lost my bum. Hubby gave me a cuddle this morning and he gave my bum a pinch and there’s just nothing there any more 😯 All of my pants now seem to just sag around that area. Not the best look, I have to say. Unfortunately the same can’t be said for my stomach region. More core work needed me thinks 🙄

