Exercise: 19.5km Walk/Run – Local Area (7’s Blue)

What a fantastic morning (okay those of you who would prefer it to be 2 degrees, I shake my head at you 🙂 ). I got up, ate some brekky, chucked some stuff into my rucksack and was out the door by 7.30am. Even at that time I knew it was going to be a warm one.

Originally I was going to drive up to the start of the Warby Trail and walk 11km and then turn back, but changed my mind at the last minute (so like me!!) and decided to just walk from home, do a few hills and then make my way to MM. I liked the fact that I had to walk past McDonalds at around the 8km mark, which gave me the opportunity to go to the loo and rehydrate.

At about the 14km mark I added some running to the equation. The legs felt a bit strange at first as they must use different muscles to walking. It took about 500 metres before I actually got any kind of rythmn going, and then it was just a shuffle. I think all up I ran about 4.5km and walked 15km.

Unfortunately I don’t think I hydrated enough afterwards, as I felt a headache coming on just before I was taking Alana to a fundraising skate late this afternoon and I had to endure 2 hours of loud music and disco lights 😯 I got home and literally ran to the medicine cupboard for some Advil!

Between you and me I’ve bought a new pair of trainers 😳 In my defence they are PURPLE!!

