6km Run – MMCT (7’s Yellow)

Disaster has struck 😯

I got up early to meet Michelle at MMCT (nothing new there!!). It was quite cool so I’d layered up well. We started off at our normal sedate pace to warm up. Everything still normal to this point.

It was only when we got to the turnaround point that things went wrong. We’d stopped and had a bit of a stretch and we’d just got going again when all of a sudden I got this really bad sore pain in my lower calf/achillies area. Had to stop straight away as it hurt too much to run. Had a bit of a stretch over the back of the pavement and went to start running again, but the pain was just too much so had to stop straight away. Looked like I was going to have to walk all the way back to the car (which was about 3.5km away).

Michelle offered to run back to her car and drive back to pick me up, so off she went while I just continued my hobble in the general direction of the car. I got to Kalinda Road (which was where Michelle was going to pick me up from) but I didn’t want to stand stilll as I was cooling down and starting to feel cold, so I kept walking up to the end of Kalinda Road. Couldn’t see Michelle at all, so turned around and started walking back up to MM. Luckily Michelle came around the corner just as I’d turned back and we then drove back to my car.

I’m not happy. I haven’t done anything to deserve this (whatever this is!!). I got home but didn’t have much time to ice my calf as I had to shower and then take Alana to Roller Skating. I did put a compression bandage on it and tried to keep off my feet as much as possible. I then had to go straight over to get my hair cut, so I was sitting in the chair for another couple of hours.

Then when I got home I dropped Alana off and went back out to do the food shopping. It was only once I’d cooked dinner and sat down that I was able to put some ice on the calf.

I have no idea what’s caused it. I haven’t been overtraining, that’s for sure. I was nicely warmed up, and we weren’t doing any type of speed either when it happened. My calves wern’t feeling particularly tight and there was no pain there beforehand. Can you tell I’m not happy. I was supposed to be going for a nice enjoyable 20km run with Michelle tomorrow along a new trail that I’ve not run before too.

It hurts to walk on it. It’s not fair. It’s just not fair! 😦

