Exercise: 7.1km Run – MMCT (6’s)

I’m still here. Just haven’t done any kind of exercise for a week now (unless you call eating crap and drinking alcohol exercise 🙄 ).

This morning’s run was shorter than normal, due to the fact that it’s the first time Michelle has run since her Marathon on Sunday, and also that she had to get to Uni for 8.30am. I was more than happy to do the shorter distance as it was good for me to ease back into the swing of things without killing myself.

Strange morning weather wise though. Last night it was really chilly. Getting up this morning, I dressed for very chilly weather. However, walking out the door it hit me that it wasn’t actully cold at all. It was pleasantly warm even. It did, however, start to rain at about the 4km mark, but it didn’t last long, so I’m not even going to complain. In fact, it felt nice to run in it. It was very light though. If it had been much heavier I may not have been so happy.

*Edit* Just checked Weatherzone and it was 11 degrees at 6am!

Going back to the weekend, we had the best time. It was so nice to get away for a girly weekend. And it was nice to get down to Apollo Bay before all the weekend traffic. We stopped for lunch at the Anglesea Pub, which was virtually deserted and I had a very yummy (and very big) Chicken Parmajana (sp?). We then continued on to our cabin, which was in a Caravan park about 2.5km out of town. Here’s the view from our little front deck

cabin view

Went into town to grab some food to stock up on, then back to the cabin for some much needed Champers and munchies. We all enjoyed Big Brother Friday Night Games.

Went back into Apollo Bay on Saturday morning to watch the finish of the 6.5km race. The wind was very strong and it rained on and off for most of the morning. We waited around until the pub opened and then had lunch there. By the time we finished eating they were setting up for the start of the 14km race, so we hung around and watched everyone start. Then we nipped over to the beach for a little while so the girls could have a bit of a play and run off all their built up energy.

Saturday night was fairly quiet. As Michelle wasn’t drinking I had the pleasure of downing a whole bottle of Champers by myself. Could only manage 3 glasses before I got too tired. Michelle was up at 5.15am so that she had enough time to get into town to catch her bus to the marathon start in Lorne. Me and the girls lounged around for most of the morning before loading up the car and heading off into town to see the half marathon and marathon finishers.

It was fantastic to see Michelle come into view. I’d been sending her text messages regularly to keep her spirits up and I did send her some audio messages but her phone couldn’t receive them. We sat at a spot where Caitlin could join Michelle near the finish and run across the line with her. I have to say that it was a very emotional experience for me, not just watching Michelle finish, but seeing everyone come struggling into view and run that last few hundred metres. I remember how I was feeling last year when I completed the half marathon.

We stayed in Apollo Bay until the road opened again and then made our way back home. One complaint has to be the amount of traffic lights going through Geelong. I could not believe how long it took us to actually get out of there. They really need to do something about that road!! 👿

Once past Geelong it was pretty plain sailing back home. Coming over the Westgate Bridge into town is always a beautiful sight. Melbourne is just so pretty at night 🙂

Weight wise, all is not good 😦 However, since Monday morning I have been determined to do better and have dropped a little bit of weight since then. Next weeks weigh in will be better 🙂

