Exercise: 6km Run – Treadmill (4 x 800m @12kph) (7’s Yellow)

I had decided that today I was going to start doing Yassos. For anyone who doesn’t know what Yassos are click here for info. I have to admit that I had no idea what they were until Michelle started training for her debut Marathon last year.

It took me a little while to work out how fast I needed to go on the treadmill to achieve 800 metres in 4 minutes. The brain just wouldn’t compute. Hubby worked it out for me in the end (thanks to Marty as well for letting me know whilst I was in the middle of my first Yasso!!).

OMG – It was hard. I couldn’t breathe properly after the first one. Had to bring the treadmill right down to walking pace so that I could recover. And the thought of doing another 3 filled me with dread. I wasn’t sure that I was going to be able to do another one let alone another 3 of them. I finally got my breath back, just in time to start my next yasso. This one felt a little bit easier, but I was still gasping for breath after 4 minutes. Once again I had to bring the treadmill back down to walking speed so that I could recover.

The last 2 were easier I have to say. I still struggled but found that I could breathe a bit easier. All I kept doing was counting down in my head, telling myself it was only another 2 minutes, only another minute and a half, only one more minute. That’s what got me through them. And just to round off the session, I jogged on the treadmill to make it up to 6km. The jogging at 10kph was a doddle!!

I know that Yassos are predominantly a training tool for marathons but I’ve also read that they help with speed as well and I’d like to bring my 10km time down a little bit, so I will persevere with them. My goal is to get to 10 reps….just might take a little bit of time to get there!

I was at the supermarket at lunch time, just buying some essentials and the check out woman was chatting away to her colleague, totally ignorant of me standing there. Anyway she was so totally involved in her conversation that she charged me twice for my potatoes and I had to actually stop her conversation to tell her of her error. Well, the look that she gave me was just unbelievable. Anyone would have thought that I’d done something wrong, not her. She shut up after that but still totally ignored me. I just shook my head when I walked away after paying!!

Alana’s Quote: “Dad now that I’m 8 years old I have to know everything!”

